Today was Bayley's first Pinewood Derby. I never did these when I was a kid so this was a first for both of us. Bayley picked out the design and idea for the car and Dad got carried away with painting it. For the record, I did let him paint the left eye on the skull. I had to rely on google to learn how to build it, and from what I read I was really nervous his car would not win one race. There is so much you can do to make a car faster, And I definitely put form before function. But he did really good. Our ward has adopted the "everyone is a winner" policy
, (lame) so there were no 1st, 2nd, or 3rd places. Out of about 12 races, Bayley won 4, lost 2 and finished 2nd in the rest, so he was very happy and I was relieved I didnt make my son a loser car.



Abbey slept on my shoulder through most of the race, She woke a little bit on the grumpy side and was not happy till she found the red punch and cookies.
3 Comments:
I have been to so many pinewood derby's that I have nightmares about them! I'm surprised you didn't get the award for "least righteous" car...that thing is scary!!! (but well done) LOL
7:56 PM
I never even heard of a pinewood derby. I guess that's something I have to look forward to with two sons. Was the car hard to make? I love the skull- very cool design, dad. :)
8:37 AM
Cool Car Curt!! How nice of you to let HIM paint the one eye!! LOL. My DH was a huge derby fan growing up. I don't think any of his cars were nearly as "gnarly" as that one though. "least righteous"!!!! Heehee. That Deb is so funny!
9:08 AM
Post a Comment
<< Home